kitchenpaster.blogg.se

How to stop skype from running on startup
How to stop skype from running on startup










how to stop skype from running on startup
  1. How to stop skype from running on startup how to#
  2. How to stop skype from running on startup update#

I suspect this is part of the problem, because it also won’t re-open until that task is killed. It’s worth noting that even after completely exiting Skype for Business, lync.exe still ran in the background. I turned the setting back on and rebooted, Skype for Business still didn’t autostart – that is, until I ran it with the option on, exited and rebooted. I even launched it manually, and restarted while it was running. It’s down the very bottom:Īfter I turned this option off and rebooted, Skype for Business no longer launched at startup.

how to stop skype from running on startup

This is hidden in Windows 10 Settings > Accounts > Sign-in options.

How to stop skype from running on startup update#

The answer was a setting called ‘Use my sign-in info to automatically finish setting up my device and reopen my apps after an update or restart’. I actually took a chance and read some threads (which are usually sfc /scannow or unhelpful answers that didn’t read the question properly) and user Daniel Wherle had responded to a thread with my exact problem. My Googling hadn’t fared any results, and I was getting desperate.

How to stop skype from running on startup how to#

No winners in the responses – I checked sysinternaltools autoruns as suggested by Neil Clinch, and Guy Leech had a suggestion on how to completely block lync.exe from running ever, but I still wanted to use Skype for Business. Don’t understand what’s triggering it…- Adam Fowler April 12, 2020

how to stop skype from running on startup

Not in the Start Menu Startup folder either. The app even has ‘run at startup’ turned off. Interesting – Skype for Business runs at user login, but it’s not listed in Task Manager > Startup, or in the registry’s Run locations. Of course, my next step is to complain on Twitter: Here is another way to stop Skype from being a part of your computer’s boot process: Windows logo key + R -> Type msconfig. I also checked the standard Run locations in the registry, and then even searched for all instances of lync.exe which is still what runs Skype for Business… no hits that make any sense to it running at startup. It’s under C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup – replacing ‘username’ with what you’re thinking you should replace it with. Maybe it’s in the Startup folder in the Start Menu? Is that still a thing in Windows 10? Yes it is. I started mucking around a bit more, ticking the option to automatically start, pressing OK, turning it off, pressing OK, rebooting – but every time, Skype for Business just turned up, like a strange uncle you never invite to dinner but somehow still finds out and turns up every night.












How to stop skype from running on startup